Labour orators from Bevan to Miliband

Crines, AS and Hayton, R (2016) Labour orators from Bevan to Miliband. , 1 - 224.

[img] Text
Labour Orators.pdf - Unspecified

Download (113kB)


How do leading Labour figures strive to communicate with and influence the electorate? Why have some proven more successful than others in advancing their ideological arguments? How do orators seek to connect with different audiences in different settings such as parliament, party conference and through the media? This thoroughly researched and highly readable collection comprehensively evaluates these questions as well as providing an extensive interrogation of the political and intellectual significance of oratory and rhetoric in the post-war Labour Party. This collection evaluates the oratory and rhetoric of twelve leading figures from Labour politics: Aneurin Bevan, Hugh Gaitskell, Harold Wilson, Barbara Castle, James Callaghan, Michael Foot, Tony Benn, Neil Kinnock, John Smith, Tony Blair, Gordon Brown and Ed Miliband. Each chapter explores how its subject attempted to use oratory to advance their agenda within the party and beyond. Students of British politics, Labour history and communication studies will find this volume essential reading.

Item Type: Book
Depositing User: Symplectic Admin
Date Deposited: 10 Sep 2015 13:44
Last Modified: 26 Apr 2022 10:23